Lawyer Pavel PetrovLawyer Pavel Petrov

RURU ENEN

Uninsured Accident Default Judgment: Case 2-844/2019

A default judgment after a road accident may follow even where the defendant previously acknowledged the claim but could not immediately pay. In case 2-844/2019, Borovsk District Court awarded damages against the owner of a vehicle driven by another person without OSAGO insurance. Driver and owner were different participants, requiring separate assessment of their legal positions.

Outcome: repair damages, representation costs and the expert-report cost were awarded. The judgment proves an award, not receipt of money.

⚖️ Case 2-844/2019: events and evidence

Borovsk District Court, Kaluga Region, delivered the default judgment on 25 September 2019, Judge Yu. A. Zharkov presiding. P. I. Petrov is identified as the claimant’s representative. Two vehicles collided; the driver of the vehicle causing damage had no OSAGO policy. The court considered administrative records, vehicle registration information and a repair assessment.

IssueWhat the judgment establishes
Driving violationThe driver was found at fault for violating Traffic Rules paragraph 9.10; administrative decisions were recorded
InsuranceThe accident materials established absence of the relevant OSAGO cover
DefendantVehicle owner; a different person was driving
Defendant’s positionAt the preliminary hearing she acknowledged the claim but said the funds for immediate payment were unavailable
Damage amountAn inspected-vehicle expert assessment of repair costs without depreciation
Pre-action demandSigned by P. I. Petrov, received and left unanswered
📄 Original default judgment of 25 September 2019 — Russian PDF, 6 pages

Five pages contain the judgment and the sixth certification. Sums, party identities, vehicle numbers and accident dates are redacted. A subsequent challenge outcome and actual collection are not established.

⚖️ Why the owner was ordered to pay

The court applied Civil Code Article 1079. It specifically found that the defendant had not proved that the vehicle left her possession through another person’s unlawful conduct. On the circumstances investigated, the award was made against the owner.

The judgment also discusses lawful driving and the insurance position. A new case must not turn that reasoning into “no OSAGO always means the registered owner pays”. Article 1079 requires assessment of legal possession of a source of increased danger and the circumstances of transfer or unlawful removal. Missing insurance alone does not replace that inquiry.

⚖️ Acknowledgment and lack of funds

The acknowledgment recorded at the preliminary hearing did not produce voluntary payment. The court still assessed damage evidence and responsibility. The defendant’s statement about insufficient funds does not establish an instalment order or absence of assets.

For a new proceeding, Civil Procedure Code Article 203 permits the court, on application, to consider deferral, instalments or a changed enforcement procedure in light of financial position and other circumstances. This is a separate procedural question, rather than an automatic consequence of saying funds are unavailable. No instalment order is established in this publication.

⚖️ How the case proceeded without travelling to the hearing

My original note of 31 May 2020 explained that we avoided hearing attendance to minimise costs. The judgment records that the claimant and representative did not attend the final hearing and that the claimant requested consideration without her. The defendant also failed to attend; the court found notification proper and used default proceedings.

Civil Procedure Code Article 233 requires procedural conditions to be assessed, including notification, non-attendance reasons and a request for consideration in absence. Non-attendance alone guarantees neither a default judgment nor success. The judgment can be challenged under the applicable rules; current grounds and deadlines should be checked separately from the historical copy.

⚖️ What was awarded and supported

ClaimEvidence and outcome
Repair damagesExpert assessment with inspection; amount not disputed and no court automotive examination requested. Damages awarded
Representative’s servicesMandate covering demand, claim and procedural support, with payment proof. Costs awarded
Expert reportAgreement and payment document. Cost awarded
Actual paymentNo defendant payment or completed enforcement records are published

The operative part allows the claims. Redacted sums prevent reporting the amount or comparing it numerically with other cases. The assessment without depreciation accepted here does not replace an individual damages assessment in a new dispute.

  1. 1. Record the accident. Preserve event, damage and insurance materials.
  2. 2. Identify the defendant. Check ownership, legal possession and the grounds for driving.
  3. 3. Support the amount. Preserve damage assessment, demand and costs evidence.
  4. 4. Separate stages. Award, challenge and actual enforcement need separate checks.

⚖️ Frequently asked questions

Was this direct loss compensation under OSAGO?

No. The award was against an individual. Article 14.1’s insurer mechanism has separate conditions, including liability cover for the owners of the participating vehicles.

If the defendant agrees but has no funds, will the court refuse?

Here acknowledgment and insufficient funds did not prevent an award. This does not promise rapid payment; ability to pay and enforcement are separate questions.

Does no OSAGO always make the owner liable?

Legal possession and vehicle transfer need assessment. This judgment is not a universal answer without checking the facts.

Can a claimant skip attendance and guarantee success?

No. Here the request for consideration in absence and submitted evidence permitted a decision. Another case may need explanations, documents or attendance.

Does the PDF prove collection?

No. It proves the court award; no payment or completed enforcement confirmation is published.

⚖️ Sources and related practice

Checked: 10 October 2026. All six original pages were read. Case findings are distinguished from provisions for a new dispute. Sources are in Russian.

Compare the different uninsured accident case. For procedure, see an application to set aside a default judgment: its grounds and deadlines do not establish that this judgment was set aside.

This text is for information only and is not legal advice. Document forms are used at your own risk and require review for the specific circumstances. A court award does not guarantee immediate payment.